Laetare Medal

Fr. Hesburgh was awarded the Laetare Medal, given annually by the university to an American Roman Catholic of distinction, at the Commencement ceremony on May 17, 1987, when he retired. Established at Notre Dame in 1883, the Laetare Medal’s previous recipients include President John F. Kennedy, Catholic Worker foundress Dorothy Day, novelist Walker Percy, and Cardinal Joseph Bernardin.